HBM Prenscia

Improving Shaker Tests to Deliver Reliable Products

Date: July 23, 2020 - 10:00 AM ET/2:00 PM GMT/3:00 PM CET

Vibration durability tests often use shaker profiles from standards, but it is also possible – and sometimes recommended - to create a vibration specification from actual measurements to ensure the test is representative of the real operational conditions. A combination of the two sources (standards and measurements) is the ideal solution to ensure both compliance with standards and accounting the real environment which the equipment must endure. The shaker test can be accelerated by manipulating the level of the stresses, all with the constraint of accumulating equivalent fatigue damage in the material.

A physical test can be modelled and virtualized using predictive CAE tools. This creates a digital twin of the device on test, which makes it possible to predict the vibrational responses, the levels of mechanical stresses, the fatigue life, etc. Finally, the purpose of a durability test is to ensure the robustness of a device under a given vibrational stress but what about its reliability? This presentation will also discuss how to deduce reliability figures from vibration tests.

Products

Services

About

nCode products and services deliver solutions for understanding product life performance, mitigating risk, and ensuring durability. Stay up-to-date by subscribing today.