HBM Prenscia

Understanding Fatigue Performance of Additive Layer Manufactured (ALM) Titanium Alloy

Date: August 21, 2019 - 10:30 AM ET/3:30 PM GMT/4:30 PM CET

Additive-layer manufacturing (ALM) methods are developing rapidly in many industries to reduce weight and lead times; with an additional advantage in aerospace for significant reduction in material buy-to-fly ratio. Aerospace and automotive OEMs and suppliers are identifying appropriate applications for ALM components and progressing their use from development prototypes, into components qualified for service on production aircraft and vehicles.

Fatigue tests on additive manufactured material, including both manufacturing process and any post manufacturing treatment, is considered essential because the fatigue performance cannot be inferred from the equivalent wrought material or from the static strength of the manufactured material.

This 45-minute webinar reviews strain-controlled fatigue testing of a titanium Ti-6Al-4V alloy, additive layer manufactured by two powder bed fusion methods; electron beam melting (EBM) and selective laser melting (SLM).

Products

Services

About

nCode products and services deliver solutions for understanding product life performance, mitigating risk, and ensuring durability. Stay up-to-date by subscribing today.